Power outages and pricey clothes

11 Aug

See that title? That’s a perfect example of what I mean by random.

Anyway, yesterday was the hottest day of the summer. It was perfectly sunny until a little before 4 pm. Then, all hell broke loose. The sky turned a menacing shade of grayish purple and the torrential downpour began. Today I read in the paper that winds got up to 75 mph. So, I looked out the window for a bit at that mess. After about 10 or 15 minutes, it stopped, and the sun came out, along with a rainbow (according to several of my friends’ Facebook statuses/mobile pictures). Another little storm came a bit later, but after that it fully cleared up and as it got darker, you could see some pretty stars and all was right with the world.

For awhile.

There I was, about 10:30 last night, listening to my chronologically arranged ’70s/’80s playlist and hopping around the interwebz. Then, darkness. It almost felt like I was in a movie, because the power didn’t just abruptly shut off like it usually does. It ever so gracefully faded. I sat, perplexed for a second. Then, using the light of my laptop, guided myself across the hall to my sister V’s room. We complained to each other for a bit, then went downstairs where our mom was lighting candles. We were getting very bored very quickly. I easily could have just gone to bed, but I am a true night owl. 10:30 to me is considered early evening. I wasn’t tired.

So, I started to think about what I would have done in the days before electricity. Gone to bed at 7 pm? Taken up needlepoint or butter churning? Because while candles provide light, it’s not substantial. Just as I was really getting imaginative, the power came back on. I shrieked with joy and V and I shared a hug. It sounds pathetic, but I would be lying if I told you anything different. The power was only out for 20 minutes, but it might as well have been 20 years. I truly am a spoiled child.

Moving right along…

Today, I discovered some lines on my forehead. I turn 20 tomorrow, so I figure it’s time to start the anti-aging process by using jars of creams designed to at least make you feel like you’re making an effort to look younger.

Really, I just wanted an excuse to go to Target. Also, I was almost close to being out of shaving cream, I guess. So, I found that stuff and headed towards the checkout, where, lo and behold, I saw Lucky sitting on the magazine rack in all its glory. Of course I snatched it up (along with a Milky Way). A lazy hipster threw my purchases (except for the candy bar, which he handed to me) in a bag and halfheartedly tossed it towards me, but I didn’t mind because I had 300 glossy pages waiting for my eyes to take in.

So, I get home and I’m flipping through the ads at the front, when I come across this gem:

Photo 90

(sorry for the poor quality, I took it with my iSight camera since a scanner is not currently a part of my life)

I would wear every single one of those outfits. Too bad I have Ann Taylor Loft tastes with an Old Navy budget. This sadness kept coming back as I perused the rest of the magazine. I love Lucky, but I hate that their idea of a “cheap” skirt is $99.

Sigh. Well, I’m going to go enjoy the last half hour of teenagerhood.

Leave a Reply

