Twentysomething and links galore

13 Aug

Yesterday, I turned twenty years old. As a result, I was inevitably forced to reflect on the last year of my life. While I did this with my feet in a basin of warm water (thanks for the spa day, Mom 🙂 ), it was still difficult to think about because 19 was nothing short of a rollercoaster. To make a long story short, let’s just say I hope 20 is much, much better.

Maybe I never thought I’d make it to twenty. It always seemed so old to me, and not an age I could see myself being. But, yesterday, I woke up, and I was twenty. I had survived two decades of life. I might sound incredibly naive, because in many people’s eyes, I am still very young. I am young for being an almost junior in college, and I haven’t even lived a quarter of a century. However, there are people who didn’t get the chance to live as long as I have. For example, according to this website, I have outlived Adán Sánchez by almost three weeks. Oh, you don’t know who Adán is? He was a Mexican American corrido singer who was only the youngest headliner to sell out LA’s Kodak Theater. He died when I was 14 years old. Wish I could have known him; he sounds like he was a quality human being.

Moving on, aside from that intense emotional reflection and another revelation later that day, my birthday was pretty sweet, thanks to my parents. Not only did I get a spa day, I am now the proud owner of a Garmin nüvi (apparently now discontinued?) to help me find my direction in life. Or to a new friend’s house. Whatever. I was also treated to an absolutely excellent dinner at this restaurant. If you’re ever in the Cleveland area, make the trip to Hudson to try out this restaurant. It’s on the pricier side, but it’s wonderful for special occasions and their vegetarian options are especially delicious. I really am grateful to my parents for everything they did. I’m pretty sure they don’t read this, but I want to make it known regardless.

Today brought more surprises. My aunt and uncle’s gift arrived, which was a gift certificate to Timbuk2. I am so excited to pick out the colors for a custom messenger bag. I’ve heard so many great things about these bags, and I can’t wait to have one for myself. Also, a book I ordered last week from Amazon finally came in – all the way from Idaho.

Things are looking up for me, as far as being twenty goes. It’s only been a day, but I’m determined to make it better than nineteen.

One Response to “Twentysomething and links galore”

  1. Pinkroom 08/13/2009 at 9:58 pm #

    Nice blog, glad the gc got there. I timed my twitter reading just right.

Leave a Reply

