Birthdays and books

22 Aug

Today is my little sister V’s 15th birthday!

I can’t believe she went from this…

6775_1100854927868_1421520180_30284734_4249417_n.jpg

to this…

n1421520180_30072306_3940.jpg

to this beautiful young lady

Picture 1

I can’t believe there’s only one more year left until she turns 16!

On a different note, I’m reading what is probably the last or second to last book of my summer vacation. I have one week left at home and it’s going to be filled with packing, shopping and appointments. Anyway, I’m reading Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella (who wrote the Shopaholic series) and I absolutely love it. It’s a really quick read, and funny like all of her other books. It’s a ghost story, though, so it’s a bit different in that way.

20sgirl.jpg

It’s a perfect, light read to squeeze in for the end of summer.

I’m also reading Unstuck by Jane Anne Staw.

9780312339807.jpg

I know what you’re thinking. How can I possibly have writer’s block when I churn out blog entries that are hundreds of words long?

Well, I can very easily write about my day, conversations I have, things that are going on in my life. It’s my creative writing I’m struggling with. I used to write stories all the time, but for the past several years I’ve been having a lot of trouble. I decided it was time to do something about that, so I searched on Amazon for a book that could help me, since, let’s be honest, I’m all about self-help books. They’re how I get through my major life issues. Unstuck had the best ratings, so I bought it and I’m about a third of the way through it. I’m finding it to be pretty helpful; I was able to write about a hundred words of “creative” stuff the other day. We’ll see if it continues to work.

All this talk about books makes me want to read more. I’ll go do that now

Leave a Reply

