School and some sorta sad stories

10 Sep

Whew. I’m pretty sure this is going to be a long-ish post, so if you’re not looking for that, I’d leave now.

If you do happen to be in the mood, then get excited!

Anyway. Classes started Tuesday and the verdict is:

“Potential to be mostly excellent”

I love love LOVE my Sociology (Classes & Inequality) class. It’s my biggest class (30 something), but it’s still small compared to what I’ve experienced in the past. The professor is awesome (and a fellow vegetarian), and everything we talk about is beyond interesting and I really think this is going to be my favorite class.

Badminton is sweet. We actually played today (Tuesday we just signed a safety form and left). My partner and I won both games we played 🙂

History (20th Century Britain) is…okay. I think it’s going to end up being my least favorite class because it’s completely lecture and the professor really likes to talk. It seems like he knows a ton about the subject, which is great, but I did find myself zoning out a little today.

Graphics & Audiences is really cool. Two of my friends are in it with me, and I’m really looking forward to the projects we’re going to be doing. I’ll finally be able to learn Photoshop and Illustrator and improve my InDesign skillz.

And, last but certainly not least, Review & Criticism. My advisor actually teaches this. I wasn’t signed up for it originally, but it replaces my Reporting Contemporary Issues class that I went to yesterday and almost cried because I know I don’t want to report contemporary issues. Reviews? Graphics? Yes, I want to do that. I am truly a magazine major. I’m not even sure I want to work for a magazine, but I sure as hell don’t want to report contemporary issues, and I wonder why I ever thought it would be a good idea to sign up for that class in the first place. I’m looking forward to R&C because we get to watch TV shows, movies, plays, go to art exhibits, etc. and then either praise them or rip them apart. Awesome. Plus, two girls I know from freshman year are in the class.

Now, it is the weekend. That’s right. I don’t do Friday classes. My last Friday class was spring quarter freshman year. I like my three day weekend and avoid Friday classes like H1N1 (if we’re going to be politically correct. But I prefer “swine flu”). Speaking of that, my Classes & Inequality prof greets every student at the door with a squirt of hand sanitizer. At first she got some weird looks, but I think overall it was appreciated. Anyway, I only have some reading for Soc and History, and a recruitment workshop on Saturday and chapter Sunday. The rest of the weekend is mine. Tomorrow I think I’m going to go to a fitness class at the gym, but I’m not sure which one yet. All of them kick my ass, but I kind of enjoy it.

Now onto the “sorta sad” stories.

1. It looks like the Timbuk2 is only going to accompany me about one or two times a week when I lug my computer to the coffee shop. I love the colors and the pockets and everything to death, but it kills my back. I’ve tried adjusting the straps, etc., but my back refuses to like it. It has a great built-in laptop sleeve, though, so at least it won’t be wasted completely. I bought a backpack today because apparently my wimpy back can only handle evenly distributed weight. I was so sad about this, but I’d rather not endure the pain.

2. Today, as I was walking home from class, I suddenly found myself face down on the sidewalk. I guess my flip flop caught on an uneven part of the sidewalk and gravity decided to work its magic. The girl walking behind me was really sweet and asked if I was okay and even said that she did the same thing earlier. So, at least I wasn’t laughed at, as far as I know. But one of my favorite pairs of jeans has a rip in it (and not even in a place where I can play it off like it’s supposed to be ripped), and I have a scrape on my knee. Wah wah.

Alright. Pictures of my room (mostly for my family’s entertainment, I guess) will be up Saturday or Sunday. Time for me to go veg.

One Response to “School and some sorta sad stories”

  1. Nancy 09/15/2009 at 2:07 pm #

    I love reading your posts!!

Leave a Reply

