Ch-ch-changes

24 Sep

Hello!

If you’re a regular around here (hi, Mom), you’ll notice that a few things have changed. The layout’s the same, but the name of this blog is not as, well, ghetto. While it doesn’t paint the best picture of me, impatience and hunger are things I feel quite often, and as I said in my new “About” section, they can make for some entertaining stories (I hope). I’ve also edited and updated my playlist, so if you are dying to know what I listen to (over and over again), it’s conveniently located at the top of the page.

As I mentioned in my last post, yesterday I met with one of the professors in my sequence to see if she could be of any assistance with this little identity crisis I seem to be having. She presented this to me in a much kinder way, but basically what it comes down to is that I’m impatient. I haven’t even taken Magazine Feature Writing yet, so how do I know that writing for magazines isn’t for me? She was very understanding, though, and she said I could come to talk to her anytime. She also encouraged me to keep up this blog and to possibly narrow down its focus. Hence, “Impatient and Hungry”. As I’ve mentioned several times before, I’m a vegetarian and have been for a little over a year now. I live in my sorority house, and while the cook is great and works really hard to accommodate the vegetarians (there are about three or four of us), I absolutely cannot wait until I have a kitchen of my own next year to try out new (at least to me) recipes. Until then (with the exception of breaks), when I post about food, it will most likely be a review of new things I’ve tried, because I love trying new food. When I’m living in my apartment/house/I’m not really sure what to call it yet next year, the focus will probably shift more towards food, but for now, because of the circumstances, we’ll call this a food/shoppingish blog with anecdotes sporadically thrown in there.

And now, onto my first-ever food review! I just wrote my first-ever movie review last night so I guess I’m in the mood. I’m actually feeling a little strange, though. This morning I had to wake up about half an hour earlier than usual to turn in said movie review, and decided to pop over to Starbucks (because it was close) to kill some time before class. I was reminded why I don’t really go to Starbucks, anymore. My caramel latte didn’t sit well with me, and neither did the vegetarian Hot Pocket type thing I consumed after class. I’m skipping badminton right now because I really don’t feel like jumping around and hitting a piece of rubber and plastic. I’m hoping to feel better by history at 3, but if not, I may just have to get the notes from my friend in the class. I’m hoping it’s just the coffee and not anything like H1N1, because I am feeling a little sniffly… Ahhh, I digress. Anyway, last night I ate Whole Soy & Co. lemon yogurt.

IMG_2098

The first bite was good, but then I found it too lemony and sweet for my tastes. I also noticed little chunks of what I’m hoping was just soy beans that weren’t all the way ground. Other than that, I enjoyed the texture, and I would most likely eat it again, just in a different flavor.

Well, that was short. I don’t think food reviews need to be particularly long, though.

Anyway, I’m going to lie down and hope to feel better before 3. Maybe I just need a nap.

Leave a Reply

