(Another) fab weekend…part 2

19 Oct

This post is going to be long but a bit rushed because I have a ton of reading to do tonight. Week seven may or may not be the death of me.

Anyway, after my sister left for homecoming, I made a Greektown pizza for my family. The recipe calls for vegan pizza crust, but we picked up this crust at Whole Foods…

Picture 1

because it doesn’t  have wheat or gluten in it, which was good for my mom. It’s not vegan, though, because it does have casein (a protein found in milk)…although I just noticed the front of the package says it’s free of casein…lies! Anyway,  you make it like you would any other pizza crust

IMG_2191

IMG_2197

IMG_2198

After about 20 minutes in the oven, the crust came out thin, crispy and…bubbly?

IMG_2199

I spread hummus all over (Sabra Roasted Red Pepper, in case anyone was wondering)…

IMG_2201

topped it with tomatoes, olives, pepperoncini, salt, pepper and oregano:

IMG_2202

popped it in the oven for 12 minutes, and…

IMG_2203

VOILA! It didn’t really taste anything like pizza, but the concept is similar, I guess. My parents seemed to like it and my mom was especially fond of the crust.

After that, mother dearest painted my nails Pamplona Purple

IMG_2204

ick, poor lighting :/

Then we went to go see Whip It! It was pretty good, albeit slightly predictable. It kinda made me want to try roller derby, but I’d probably wimp out. Ellen Page was great…I sometimes want to be her.

Sunday began with another trip to Bob Evans for breakfast. I had two biscuits and two eggs over easy this time, which hit the spot. Our waitress was just adorable, and she had on spider earrings. Afterwards we went to WalMart so my mom could get a few things. I got in a bit of a fender bender on the way there. I don’t want to say too much about it, but everyone who was involved is okay and the damages seem minor. Only the tire cover of my car was ripped; no dents or anything.

I drove back to Athens around two. Did sorority stuff for a few hours, then just lazed about and caught up with my friends. Today I ate some pie for breakfast (no shame), and sat through critique day in my Graphics & Audiences class. Let’s just say I’m determined to kick major ass on my next project. I had some peaches and some carrots with hummus for lunch, then went to my favorite coffee shop to read for history for a few hours. Now the time has come for me to read more, this time for sociology. I think I’ll go to Kroger, first, though…yogurt supply is at 0!

Leave a Reply

