No shame Saturday

21 Nov

First of all, allow me to revel in the fact that FINALS ARE OVER AND I AM HOME FOR SIX WEEKS!

Okay, I’ll probably be bored after a few weeks. But, FINALS ARE OVER! *revelrevelrevelrevel*

They weren’t terrible. I didn’t have any actual “finals”, just papers and projects.

Anyway, I drove home yesterday and was greeted by my sister, dad and one of our dogs (my mom was still at work). My sister had even baked cookies. I was absolutely ravenous, but I figured I should eat something more substantial first. After bringing all of my stuff in (with help, of course), I had a Boca chik’n patty with ketchup on a sandwich thin and cold broccoli marinated in Newman’s oil and vinegar dressing (one of the two ways I’ll eat broccoli – I refuse to eat it warm). Afterwards, I unpacked and caught up with my sister while waiting for my mom to get home. Mommy dearest eventually got home and we hugged and were happy and stuff until we realized we were hungry. We made a pizza…nothing extravagant, just sauce, cheese and some pepperoncini. I finally ate one of my sister’s cookies. Well, one and a half, if you’re really wondering. Whatever, half a cookie never hurt anyone.

We then decided to groom our smaller dogs, which was a fantastic idea because they needed it. After they smelled acceptable enough to cuddle with us, we popped in my mom’s latest Netflix: The Diving Bell and the Butterfly. It was pretty good, but I definitely want to read the book because I think it will be even better, as that’s usually the case. After doing my usual sweep of the interwebz, I headed to bed.

This brings me to today, Saturday, the day during which I did about a trillion things I would have felt guilty doing or couldn’t do at school:

  • slept in until 1. Yes, 1.
  • made a piping hot bowl of oats with almond butter and honey. I did this at school a lot, but it tasted better this time. I don’t know why.
  • took a shower WITHOUT flip flops
  • let my hair air dry, put on zero makeup, and wore leggings as pants. That last part was breaking my own rule, but I didn’t have any plans, and leggings are really quite comfortable.
  • plopped down on my bed, curled up under my incredibly soft blue blanket, listened to Bon Iver radio on last.fm and John Mayer’s new album, and blog creeped (crept?). Blog creeped/crept as in I went to some of my favorite blogs and went through their blogrolls to find new blogs to read. It was a success. I added to my Google Reader 100 Layer Cake, aurajoon, Design*Sponge, fresh365 and Heart of Light. Kind of a random assortment, but all fantastic reads.

After a glorious afternoon of doing nothing productive, it was time to eat. I had a Morningstar Italian veggie sausage on a sandwich thin with ketchup, stadium mustard and a bit of shredded cheddar. More Newman-ized broccoli somehow came into the picture. The stadium mustard was a fantastic idea, if I do say so myself. It mixed really well with the spices of the Italian veg sausage. I’m hardly an expert on things like this (I’m slowly learning), but I’ll definitely be trying it again.

Now I’m camped out on my bed again, this time with my mom, and we’re watching Animal Planet. I’m sure I’ve said this before, but my life is clearly exciting.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

One Response to “No shame Saturday”

  1. Laura 11/21/2009 at 10:10 pm #

    i love you and i love your blog. i love that you describe the food you eat because it makes me want to try new things! anyway i miss you already. enjoy your break boo 🙂

Leave a Reply

