How much would you spend?

24 Nov

Last night, I drove up to Beachwood Place Mall to go shopping with my big sis in my sorority – who will, from now on, be referred to as “Big”. Big graduated last spring and lives about 30 minutes away from me at home, so we tend to see each other at least several times during breaks. After grabbing dinner and hitting up Victoria’s Secret, Sephora and Steve Madden (I wanted to go to J. Crew and Gap, too…) we head back to our starting point of Nordstrom. Big used to work at Nordstrom, so she knows every single department like the back of her hand. After browsing the shoes and handbags and getting some more Skin Rev-er Upper at the Bare Escentuals counter, we trek upstairs to T.B.D., a.k.a where the designer jeans live.

Big has expensive tastes and will only wear designer jeans. I’ve had several pairs in my life, but I’ve since moved on from that phase and prefer the jeans (and prices) of Express, Gap and Levi’s. Anyway, when we get up there, Big notices a sale rack full of jeans, mostly Joe’s. They’re marked down to $100 from $158.

“Little!” she exclaims. “These are $100! That’s so cheap!”

I go over to see, and I pull a pair off the rack in my size just to look. They’re incredibly soft.

“I’m going to try them on,” Big says. “You should, too!”

What the hell, I thought. Trying on is harmless. The sales associate leads us into the fitting rooms, and I try on what are quite possibly some of the softest, best-fitting jeans of my life. Big wants to see.

“Little, they look so good on you!”

The sales associate does her job and says basically the same thing.

I say, “Okay, I’ll buy them!” in a moment lacking thought or logic, knowing full well I already have plenty of jeans.

Big buys a pair, too. The sales associate is happy. We leave the mall. I plan to return them the next chance I get.

I know designer jeans are known for fitting everyone “so well” and blah blah blah, but even marked down to $100, I could not justify the price for several reasons:

  1. While they were soft and fit me really well, I wasn’t crazy about the cut or the style.
  2. I could have bought birthday gifts for Little (December 1) and MGM (December 13) and still have some left over with what I spent on those jeans.
  3. It wasn’t necessarily my money to spend. As I’ve mentioned before, the credit card I have is paid for by my parents, and I know they would rather me spend that money in a different way. Or not at all.

I’m not trying to belittle anyone who buys designer jeans. Believe me, I understand they’re pretty sweet. The price is just too much for me (and many, many others) at this point in my life, and I can think of a million other ways I’d rather spend $100.

 

Speaking of clothes, however, I do read a variety of fashion/style blogs. One of my favorites lately has been Love at First Shop. Rosa’s wardrobe is adorable, and, while she does have some higher-end pieces, she mixes them with more affordable items to create a unique yet classic (and comfortable) look.

 

Aaaaaanyway, I think tomorrow I’m going to do something many food bloggers do and photograph everything I eat. I’ve always wanted to do it, but it wasn’t as feasible when I was at school due to how busy I was. I plan on going to the library tomorrow, and back to Nordstrom to return those jeans, but other than that, I have all the time in the world.

And, now, to pose the question in the title: how much would you spend for a good pair of jeans?

Right now, no more than $60 or $70. I don’t exactly have income I can claim as my own right now.

One Response to “How much would you spend?”

  1. Laura 11/24/2009 at 10:31 pm #

    oooh good question. right now i’m not in a big “jeans phase” (i think you noticed i wore mostly dresses this quarter) so i think my denim spending limit is $50. maybe $60?

Leave a Reply

