The joys of Middle America

11 Dec

As I mentioned in my last post, on Tuesday and Wednesday I was in Columbus visiting Little and MGM. I had the absolute best time, and they showed me parts of the town that weren’t Easton (although we did go there), including OSU’s campus and the surrounding areas. I really wouldn’t mind living there someday; I actually like it a lot better than where I’m from. On Wednesday, Little and her friend Matt showed me around their suburb, which included a giant field of concrete corn.

it was very windy!

I look goofy, but I still like this picture.

I also had the opportunity to try several new restaurants:

  • Noodles & Company – kind of self-explanatory, this place specializes in noodles. Little and I got Pad Thai and MGM got macaroni and cheese. It was my first time eating Pad Thai, and I liked it a lot. I’m sure it would taste better coming from an actual Thai restaurant, though. MGM’s mac and cheese was FANtastic – some of the best I’ve ever had, and I consider myself to be a macaroni and cheese connoisseur.
  • Jeni’s Ice Cream – a gourmet ice cream shop and SUPER cute! I had currant sorbet and lemon frozen yogurt. They had all sorts of unique flavors. I wish they had one in my area so I could try them all.
  • Graeter’s Ice Cream – apparently this is Oprah’s favorite ice cream (and a lot of other people’s, too…). It was good, but I didn’t find it much different from Handel’s, the Graeter’s equivalent in my  town. I had the black raspberry chip, which is their most popular flavor. I liked the black raspberry flavor, but I found the chips to be too big for my liking. I’m not against ever having it again, though. I’ll just try a different flavor.

I was really sad to leave, but a snowstorm was coming and it was already extremely windy, so I didn’t want to risk leaving any later. Luckily my drive home was uneventful, and I was able to fit in a run (again, watching Food Network), this time at a slightly faster pace.

Yesterday I did a workout from one of the new DVDs I ordered, Pilates Complete for Inflexible People. It was awesome, and I felt great afterwards. I don’t have much pilates experience, but I can see myself doing it a lot more from now on.

Today I was supposed to run again, but I woke up late and I had a doctor’s appointment. My hair was kind of nasty, so I just went ahead and showered and got ready. I’m going to do my run tomorrow. I’m writing this here so if anyone reads this they can hold me to it – a tip I acquired from this month’s issue of Real Simple magazine, which came in the mail today 🙂

Well, there is food waiting for my stomach, so I’ll leave it to you smart cookies to figure out what I’m going to go do now.

Leave a Reply

