School and some sorta sad stories: the sequel

8 Jan

Funny how history repeats itself.

Also, I just really suck at coming up with catchy titles for my posts. I think this sequel is better than most, though. Not because the writing is going to be fantastic or my sense of humor is going to be on par with the best, but because I just feel like I’m at a better place in my life now than I was in September.

Anyway, I know it’s only been a little less than a week, but I really, really like being a sociology major. All of my classes are great (er, well, my biology class isn’t that great, but that’s a different rant for a different time), and I am becoming more and more confident that I made the right choice. My favorite class so far is my Race & Ethnic Relations class. The professor is a middle-aged Asian man with a quirky sense of humor and an extremely animated personality, maybe more than any other professor I’ve ever had. I’m sure there’s a better way to say this, but I absolutely love people who are not from America. Their accent, their mannerisms…they fascinate me. The way they learn English and adapt to life here is so interesting to me.

This quarter is going to be very busy with reading, but it’s all reading (again, except biology) that I really enjoy and I actually find myself staying off of my computer more, which was part of one of my resolutions.

As for the rest of my resolutions, they are going well. I went to yoga on Tuesday with my brand new mat and felt fantastic afterwards. I know this next part sounds horrible, but I don’t know the next time I’ll be able to go to a class. I wanted to go to a class last night and pilates today, but believe me when I say that the weather did not permit. For some crazy reason the university wasn’t closed (it never is…last year was a freak miracle) even though it felt like -4 today when I went to bio and I almost fell about 10 times (speaking of falling, stay tuned…) Tomorrow there is a pilates class I would like to go to but I have something for my sorority, and then we have informal recruitment during all of the times I could go next week, and them I’m going home next weekend…gahhh. The second I have time, though, I will be back on that yoga mat.

And now, onto the “sorta sad stories”. Like last time, there are two.

1) I wonder if it’s becoming a tradition for me to wipe out every quarter. Wednesday night my friends and I were at a pizza place/bar for one of our friend’s 22nd birthday. They have this thing every Wednesday called Slice Night where a slice of pizza is 50 cents. The kitchen/pizza counter and the bar are in two separate rooms, and I was walking back from the counter with my pizza. There is a bit of a slope down to the bar area, which is where we were sitting, and it was wet from people tracking in snow. All of I sudden, I found myself sitting on the ground, and my pizza about 5 feet away. I just sat there for a few seconds, trying to process what happened (and also mourning the loss of my pizza), so a guy behind me asked if I was okay. I said yes, and he helped me get up (thank you, sir, whoever you are). I picked up my pizza stared at it, and literally fought back tears as I threw it away. I get really embarrassed about these types of things for, like, 10 minutes and then I’m okay. I started to go back in line to try to explain what happened, but I didn’t feel like being around a bunch of people who just saw me eat it so I slunk back to my table and had someone else get me replacement slices. Courtside made one extra dollar that night because of my clumsiness. Two days later, my ass still hurts but I do think my dignity is in tact.

2) This one is just stupid. A few days ago, I was talking to my friends about this song, to which Vic introduced me over break. Turns out, I’ve been pronouncing Chamillionaire’s name wrong. I’d been saying “chuh-millionaire”, and my friend says, “you know it’s ‘kuh-millionaire’, don’t you?” To which I said, “Oh,” and promptly shut my mouth. However, this song is now my alarm tone. It works a lot better than the generic tone I had been using.

Well, food calls. I have been hungry pretty much all day, so I keep snacking. I think an Amy’s burrito is calling my name.

3 Responses to “School and some sorta sad stories: the sequel”

  1. Nancy 01/09/2010 at 11:22 am #

    OK, I’ve read it now. Your writing always amazes me. How many times can I, can a mother, say that without it sounding generic…well, more generic than it probably already does?? Well, there it is….I don’t know how else to say it. Yes, it’s been some time since I’ve been on your blog. I’ll try to be more visitacious…how’s that for a red-lined word??
    I am glad that you’re settling in so well with your new direction. The more I consider your change, the better I think it is…but I think I’ve already expressed that to you. It just all fits together now, though––those HOURS you spent playing Sims. It was the proverbial writing on the wall. I think that our culture, especially nowadays, tries too hard to label people and put them into categories in the hope that they can understand them or “manage” them better somehow. Ergo, if you like to write or are particularly good at it, you MUST be a journalism major, right? Or maybe an English major, right? Ah, but writing well will serve you well in all areas of your life. You’ll see, my pet. Carry on. Pip, pip and so forth.

  2. Jaden 01/11/2010 at 12:22 am #

    Hello from three rooms over! Yes, nothing has changed in the year 2010- I am still loving your blog unconditionally. Hows about conquering Slice Night this week sans embarrassing falls? Let me know your thoughts.

    Love, Your loyal reader

  3. Mark 01/14/2010 at 12:04 am #

    I agree with your avisitacious mother. Blog on!
    What do you most want to learn from your Race and Ethnic Relations course, and what do you find most interesting so far?

Leave a Reply

