The weather outside is weather

29 Jan

I can’t believe it’s almost February. What up with dat?

Okay, really I just said that because my mom and I really like that skit and I wanted other people to see it. You might think it’s stupid, but that’s okay.

Week four was alright. Another week of ups and downs, but that’s fine. It’s normal. I had a very good conversation with my mom last night when I was experiencing one of the “downs”. There are few things in life I appreciate more than good conversation, especially during rough times.

I woke up today feeling better. This could be attributed to the fact that bio was canceled and I got to sleep in for a little bit. Or that it was FRIDAY.

Fridays mean brunch. Our cook makes something different every week. I feel like I talk about her enough for me to actually give her a name besides “our cook”. Her name is Karen. She’s the sweetest woman ever and puts more butter in her meals than Paula Deen. She made a bunch of food as usual, but I just had an egg and cheese sandwich on an English muffin and a chocolate chip muffin. Or two.

After that I got my life together, bundled up (I might as well live on the North Pole) and walked to Donkey where I, for some reason, ordered a cold drink. I was still full from brunch, so coffee seemed too heavy and I’m inexperienced with tea (long-ish story), but with a passion berry iced tea all I had to do was add two sugars. MGM met me after awhile and we spent the afternoon being fairly productive. It was during this time I found out one of my favorite artists is coming to OU with Mat Kearney. That was probably the highlight of my afternoon. I’ve watched pretty much every video of Ingrid’s shows on YouTube and she is hilarious in concert.

We braved the cold again around 4:30 to head back to the house, only to turn around and go to dinner with Little at Casa Nueva. It was the first time I’d eaten there because the wait is always so long, but we only waited about 10 minutes tonight. I ordered the veggie quesadilla which was made with all of the regulars and then mushrooms and collard greens. I’d never tried collard greens before, and I never thought I would eat them in a quesadilla. I actually thought it was really good, but I couldn’t finish it all.

Now, hours later (it always takes me a long time to write posts because I get distracted), I am in the sitting room watching Forgetting Sarah Marshall. I’m not sure how I feel about it, but I do know that I am still freezing. I’m wearing slippers, leggings with sweatpants over them, a long sleeved waffle-knit shirt, a zippered hoodie over that with the hood up, and a pashmina wrapped around my neck. It is 16 degrees outside but weather.com says it’s 4. Ick.

Well, I’m going to go try to decide if I like this movie. I’m sorry if my posts haven’t been very interesting lately…maybe something exciting will happen to me soon. Or my writing skills will improve so much that it just seems like I have a really exciting life.

One Response to “The weather outside is weather”

  1. Nancy 01/30/2010 at 2:54 pm #

    ooooooooooo -ah wee-e-e-e-e Dat’s whatzup.
    Good posting, my dear. You must learn how to play backgammon before you come home, or before I come there. I’m going through one of my backgammon phases that generally last a couple of months. Alas, the only “person” I can find to play it with is my computer.
    I miss Donkey. Kiss it for me.

Leave a Reply

