There’s a land that I’ve heard of

7 Feb

I should be reading Chapter 16 of Race and and Ethnic Relations: American and Global Perspectives by Martin N. Marger (Eighth Edition), but I’ve been productive pretty much all weekend and sometimes too many things run through my head for me to be able to concentrate on global issues of ethnic conflict and change.

I’m on my new computer. It was waiting for me Friday morning when I got back from bio. I was so worried something would happen to it on the long journey from Shanghai to little old Athens. But it arrived, safe and sound and perfect. I spent the better part of Friday afternoon setting it up and transferring all of my old files. It still doesn’t quite feel like “mine”. My fingers glide too quickly across the keys and the trackpad is smooth and not ridden with fingerprints. It’s zippy and I can take it places without the charger for up to seven hours without worrying about the battery dying. I love it and I hope it stays this way for a long time. It will just take some getting used to. I always feel this way with shoes, for some reason. I keep looking down at my feet when I wear them the first few times and think, “I can’t believe these are mine,” whether they were $10 or $100. I still feel a slight attachment to my old Macbook. It was the first (and most expensive to date) thing I’d ever gotten with money I had earned. It had years of my life, from ages 17 to 20, tucked away in the crevices of wherever things are tucked away. I could look up iChat conversations from years ago and instantly be transported back to a time in my life I’m  not so sure I want to visit. This computer, like so many things in my life, is just a part of the fresh start I have made this year. I know that might sound silly, but it’s almost a relief to not have all of that crowding up what is honestly my favorite “toy”.

I was uncharacteristically productive this weekend. I did have my downtime, but I also got a lot done. Little and MGM went home for the weekend, and they are probably the people with whom I spend the most time. I spent a good part of yesterday and today studying for this redonkulous psych midterm I have this week. We’re given six potential essay questions, and the exam will consist of two of those questions. We answer one question on Tuesday and one on Wednesday, and we have 50 minutes to answer each one. It makes me nervous that I have to study all of this when I’ll only be tested on a third of it. I can never be sure if I’m studying everything equally. I’ve devoted a day to each potential question and left two days to review, so I hope that’s sufficient. What really worries me is that, at the beginning of the quarter, the professor said the highest grade he usually gives out is an A-. I know a lot of professors say things like that to weed out the slackers, and I think it worked because the next day about a quarter of the people who were there the first day were gone. It still worries me, though.  I’m so gullible.

I probably shouldn’t admit that on the internet.

I went out last night for the first time all quarter. I know my school has a reputation for being a “party” school, but I’ve never been the party type. I am perfectly fine with staying in and watching a movie. Last night was a lot of fun, though, because I got to spend time with people I don’t normally see very much, and it was nice to just get out of the house for a few hours. That’s not to say I’ve been cooped up in the house all weekend. In fact, I’ve spent many of my waking hours this weekend at Donkey because I find it’s where I do my best work. I like to think I keep them and Jimmy John’s in business.

I don’t know why I felt the need to blog tonight. Tonight words are coming so much easier to me than they have in the past, and as I mentioned in my last post, it’s getting easier and easier for me to just write again. I’m a bit stressed right now about a lot of things, and while I’m not really writing about any of them, it helps to write in general. I know I’m not really writing – I’m typing – but I’ve written enough today to give me a moderate case of carpal tunnel.

Anyway, week six starts tomorrow. I can’t believe I’m over halfway through winter quarter. I have something every weekend until the end. I’m most excited about something I forgot to mention in my last post. I scored front row center seats for Ingrid Michaelson and Mat Kearney on March 11. I’ve never had such good seats to anything. Little, MGM and MGM’s friend are accompanying me and I am so excited. I just think it would be really cool to be friends with Ingrid. She seems so normal. If you look at any of her concert videos on YouTube, you’ll see that she has an incredible connection with any audience, and she is in no way a diva nor does she have a holier-than-thou attitude so many artists seem to have these days. This is one of my favorites of her.

Now I feel like I can maybe knock out some reading. When I started writing this, my stomach was in knots and my head was starting to hurt. There was no way I could get any sort of work done. I don’t feel that way anymore. I’ve rediscovered my favorite therapy.

One Response to “There’s a land that I’ve heard of”

  1. Mackenzie 02/09/2010 at 8:51 pm #

    you forgot to mention jer coons on the 27th!!!!!! i ❤ your blog BIG:)

Leave a Reply

