I do what I want

6 Apr

I feel really guilty because I recently wrote about how I would be posting more, and I haven’t really done that. I started SLDTW, but that doesn’t really involve much effort on my part. While I’m going to continue doing it because I enjoy sharing things I find with other people, I can also see how some would interpret it as a cop-out.

Anyway, I think part of the reason I haven’t been blogging is that I’m still waiting for something exciting to happen to me to write about. This was partially because I found out a handful of my friends regularly read this, and I wanted to have entertaining stories to tell all the time.

But nobody’s life is exciting enough to write regular posts about all of the wonderful things that happen to them. At least, nobody I know. And while it’s flattering that more people than I realized read my blog, I blog primarily for myself. So instead of worrying about what other people want to read, I’ll write what I want to write. If people want to read it, awesome. If not, no harm done. I am not going to worry anymore. I do that too often and it’s literally starting to show in between my eyebrows. I am only 20. I should not be getting these lines.

That being said, I’m sitting on the balcony off the president’s suite with Mak, J and C. Mak just bought new furniture, so we’re sitting at a nice square table courtesy of Big Lots. I can see up the hill and out over the parking lot. I can yell at strangers if I want. It’s a prime location.

Anyway, there’s not much else to report. Spring has come to southeast Ohio and I can’t really ask for anything more right now.

2 Responses to “I do what I want”

  1. Nancy 04/06/2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Things don’t have to happen in your life in order to write about something. You can always write about things in the past that had some sort of affect on you or a fond memory. Or you can just take any topic really and expound upon it, like, how did men’s leisure suits ever get started, and why must pale green ones always be accompanied by a white belt and white shoes? Or you can talk about a favorite book or movie. Why do you like Breakfast at Tiffany’s? Why do you like Tiffany’s? etc. Sometimes it’s fun just to sit down and free associate and see what comes out. Often the best writing comes at those times. My sage advice.

  2. laura 04/07/2010 at 2:19 pm #

    that’s so funny that we wrote about the same topic! i’m glad – seriously – that we seem to suffer from the same issues of whether or not to listen to other’s opinions where our writing is concerned. i personally have always loved your blog, regardless of what you post, and as long as you keep writing i don’t much care what topics you choose 🙂

Leave a Reply

