For me

21 Apr

I can’t keep ignoring what really makes me feel good in life. It wasn’t until last night that I realized how important it is for me to incorporate more of it into my life, especially now. If you know me you know that the past week and a half hasn’t been easy. I’ve relied heavily on the support of my family and friends to get me through this but I wasn’t really doing enough for myself.

I’ve said before how Heather inspired me to get more into yoga, but I didn’t manifest that inspiration by, well, doing yoga. (By the way, she’s giving away an adorable Lululemon bag in her latest post). I finally made the time yesterday to go to the only class offered at a time when I don’t have a class or meeting, and it was probably the best thing I could have done for myself. It was the first time I truly allowed myself to completely wipe away any thoughts I was having about my situation and really focus on just me.

Since it was such a nice day, the instructor decided to have class on Ping‘s back patio. It was the first time I’d done yoga outside and it was awesome. I thought it would be a lot louder than it was, but the golf course by the gym was enough distance so that the cars on the nearby highway were just a faint buzz. The sky was cloudless and the temperature was perfect. It was nice to get out of the normal room fitness classes are held, because it has a tendency of getting stuffy.

During the 45-minute class, I learned several things.

  • I have weak wrists. I actually already knew this, and downward dog will not let me forget that.
  • I have a new favorite pose:

I present...pigeon!

  • I did another pose that I’m really going to have to work on. I struggled even with the yoga block.

Half moon. Much harder (for me, at least) than it looks!

I have a long way to go with yoga – my flexibility is seriously lacking. But this is the first time in the long time I have truly looked forward to physical activity, and I’m going to milk that for all it’s worth.

3 Responses to “For me”

  1. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope 04/21/2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Sweetie, I am SO proud of you!!! Yoga will truly prove its power when YOU are open to it, and it sounds like you’ve begun to let it fully come into your life. Stick with it and be open to all the feelings it will bring! Sounds like a fabulous class today!

    xxoo
    Heather

  2. Mark 04/22/2010 at 12:34 am #

    Lena says if you think yoga is awesome you should try roaching. She offers a master class every weekend. . . .

  3. Nancy 04/25/2010 at 8:41 am #

    I majorly LOVE the pigeon pose. It’s been my favorite for a while. I have a sort of modified version of it I made up (at least I’ve never seen it anywhere else) that I’ll have to show you, but basically you place the extended leg over on the same side as your bent leg. Then you get nice stretches on both sides.

Leave a Reply

