25

16 May

This is going to be another pictureless post, but I wanted to take the time to thank everyone who commented on my last post as well as the people I’ve talked to in real life. A lot of thought went into my decision and parts of it might not be a smooth ride (is anything, really?), but everyone has been so supportive and I really appreciate it!

I also wanted to write about my goals for this summer and what it’s going to take to achieve them. I’m making some huge changes, and of course I’ll chronicle everything that comes with that here. I have 25 days left in Athens (save for Memorial Day weekend during which I’ll be home) and while I want to try to enjoy it is as much as I can, the fact that summer and working towards these goals is just around the corner makes for an extremely antsy Liz.

So. This summer.

As of right now I’m taking a Tuesday-Thursday night class at my new school, but this was scheduled before I knew I was transferring in order to get a humanities credit at OU. My transcript hasn’t been processed yet, so I don’t even know if it’ll count for anything. Hopefully all of that will get figured out soon and if I need to I can schedule a different class or two.

Other than that, this summer I am all about restoring my health and fitness. As I mentioned in my last post, it’s taken a much smaller role in my life than I would have liked. Since I will have 100% control over my meals (although I will miss having coffee already brewed for me in the morning), I will finally be eating how I want to eat. No more preservatives or fried food, and hopefully no more heartburn. We all know that when you eat better, you feel better. I can’t wait for that. Food pictures will definitely be making more of an appearance on Impatient & Hungry!

The day after I get home from school, I am going to the running store in my area to get fitted for some good running shoes, because this summer I am (for real) going to start running. I know I dabbled with the Couch to 5k plan over winter break, but a lot of internal and external factors kept me from sticking with it. This time I am serious. This plan has you running 3 days a week. I’ll probably run Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, do some form of yoga or pilates Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays, and take Sundays off. I’ll also make a point to go on walks with my dad and one of our dogs every day. Not only do I love walks, it’s a good way to get in some quality time with my dad.

Finally, I’m redoing my room this summer since I’ll be living there all the time now. It was originally my sister’s room, but when I moved to Athens, she moved into what was my room and all of my stuff was put in her room. It’s painted bright blue and bright green and the bedspread is a very bold, striped pattern. I’m looking for something a lot more relaxing, so we’re going to paint it and get some new bedding and make it look more “mature” in general.

Anyway, I’ll be back soon with some more visually stimulating posts within the next week or so. There are some exciting things coming up that will definitely require pictures. Until then, I’m going to try to survive week 8 and hope it doesn’t actually rain as much as weather.com says it will.

One Response to “25”

  1. JH 05/19/2010 at 3:16 am #

    Let’s make the next few weeks memorable, happy, filled with laughter and hopefully not filled with fried macaroni squares. xo

Leave a Reply

