All good things must come to an end

31 May

Hello hello hello!

I’m wrapping up a fantastic long weekend at home during which I did lots of wonderful things. It wasn’t Hilton Head (the norm for OU students on Memorial Day Weekend), but I actually prefer it that way.

Instead of bore you with all of the details in writing, I’ll let pictures do [most of] the talking for now.

I found these for two ny ny (that’s $2.99 for all you normal folk) at Marc’s, a store that has pretty much everything you want and even more you don’t want. Anyway, I think they’re brilliant.

Falafel, hummus, and pita at Aladdin’s, one of my favorite restaurants. I met Mak and her boyfriend there for dinner Friday night and we had a grand ol’ time. It reminded me how I’m going to miss both of them next year, though. We decided to go to Aladdin’s whenever they were in town for a weekend or something.

Smoothies I made for the madre and me. I forget the exact measurements of everything but I know it involved bananas, blueberries, plain Greek yogurt, honey, cherry juice, and ice cubes. Try it. You’ll enjoy.

PANERA. Half Greek salad and half Mediterranean Veggie. Wonderful. Pic’s jank because my arm was bumped when I was taking the picture and I felt like eating rather than taking another. Stuff happens.

Vic drove us around most of the weekend because she has her learner’s permit (we call them temps around here) and needs to get in 50 hours of driving. I was a little nervous to have her drive my car, but she thankfully kept us alive.

found this gem uploading the pics from my camera to my laptop and I had to share. Thanks, Vic.

Other highlights of this incredible long weekend include:

  • picking out a new paint color for my room
  • getting my student ID for my new school – it looks so much better than my OU ID. Blonde was not a good choice for me.
  • sleeping in my bed with new bedding (will be revealed with the rest of my room redecorations when that’s all done)
  • eating good food
  • spending lots and lots of time with my family, most importantly.

My favorite weekends all seem to be the ones I spend at home. I guess I’m a homebody, and I don’t think I would have it any other way.

My eyes are drooping now, but I don’t want to go to sleep. I have a 7 a.m. wakeup call and will probably be on the road back to Athens by 8 in order to make it to my noon class. Don’t get me wrong, I really do appreciate Athens, but there are things about it right now that I’m just dreading going back to. I don’t have much time left there, though, and there are people I am looking forward to seeing again after this extended weekend. Really, I just need to grow a pair and face things head on.

2 Responses to “All good things must come to an end”

  1. laura 05/31/2010 at 11:33 pm #

    glad you had a good weekend 🙂 can’t wait to see pictures of your refabbed room!

    lunch/dinner/coffee this week plzkthnx!

  2. Mak 06/01/2010 at 5:19 pm #

    There is a pull out sofa with your name on it for visits next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

