Goodbye and hello

11 Jun

Yesterday I said goodbye to what I called my “home” for the better part of the last three years. For the most part, I find that I don’t really cry or get upset during goodbyes because it never really seems to hit me until afterwards. I said goodbye to a handful of people yesterday, including Little and MGM, and didn’t shed a tear. I knew it was sad, but honestly it probably won’t hit me until it’s time for everyone to go back to Athens and I won’t be going back with them. Little wrote me a wonderful letter – probably one of the nicest letters I’ve ever received. Never underestimate the power of a letter! I appreciate them so much, and while there are a lot of ways to communicate with people nowadays (Little and I are already planning Skype dates), a letter is one of the most meaningful.

Anyway. Tangent. Sorry.

On Wednesday afternoon, it was kind of rainy and I wanted a break from studying, so I decided to go on my drive I became accustomed to taking to clear my head. I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this before, but it’s about 45 minutes round trip through some country roads that remind me why I chose OU in the first place. I snapped some pictures (not when the car was moving, FYI) of some things I’ll miss.

I've spent days and days here studying and just soaking in its awesomeness

That’s Donkey Coffee, for you new readers, and it is the coziest coffee place you will ever come across. I don’t know where I’m going to get work done here, but wherever it is will never compare to Donkey.

I am obviously nowhere near a professional photographer, but regardless, this scene is straight out of a calendar or something.

Sometimes in Appalachia you stumble upon innocent chalk graffiti

Please ignore the telephone wire and focus on the rest 🙂

The Last Chance Corral, a horse rescue center. So pretty.

Along with all of the wonderful things I’ve encountered in Athens, I’ve also encountered some wonderful people. While I would love to dedicate a post to everyone who has positively impacted my life during my time there, it’s just not possible. Words don’t really do justice to how appreciative I am. You all know who you are, anyway.

I arrived home early last evening to a fantastic dinner that I didn’t even think to photograph. My dad made barbecue chicken for the meat eaters, and a spectacular portobello mushroom burger with tomatoes, red bell peppers, pickles, ketchup, mustard and onions for me. We all enjoyed corn on the cob and mashed potatoes on the side.

Then, I set to work on this mess:

This was actually taken today. It was much worse yesterday!

Annnnd that’s what I’m about to tackle now. I’ve been unpacking and organizing and going through clothes and other things I don’t want anymore so I don’t have as much stuff crowding around when I paint and redecorate my room. I already have my new bedspread on my bed, so that might give you a hint at the color scheme 😉

Hello, big changes!

Ciao for now!

One Response to “Goodbye and hello”

  1. lisasfoods 06/12/2010 at 1:33 pm #

    It’s funny – moving usually doesn’t hit me until after the fact too. And sometimes it all happens so quickly.

    Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

