The Run Report…

16 Jun

…that’s pronounced with a silent ‘T’, just like Colbert does it ๐Ÿ˜‰

I cringed a little at this title but when I started this blog I never promised it would have catchy titles. So…there.

I ran today.

That felt weird to type.

Anyway, I started off a little after 11 am. I realize this is normally not an optimal time to run, especially in the summer, but it had recently rained so it was still pleasantly cool. At first, I was just going to go ahead without eating anything because I didn’t want to cramp, but at the last minute I decided on half a banana, which seemed to hold me over well without being overwhelming. I also drank a glass of water, but I probably should have had more…

I have a little secret for you my friends: it can feel nice and cool when you step out for your 5-minute warmup walk, but the mugginess sneaks up on you after about a minute. That wasn’t the horrible part, though. There was nothing about my run that was horrible, per se. Why don’t I just list for you the pros and cons? I’m in a list-y mood.

Pros

  • I had an upbeat playlist to keep me going
  • Because I didn’t use an actual timer and used the songs as a rough estimate, I actually ran for more than the recommended 60 second intervals…closer to about 90 seconds, I’d say. This is good news for someone who swore she couldn’t run a minute ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I was able to remember (most of) the things I’ve been reading about good form – head up, hands relaxed, keep yourself at a pace where you could still talk etc.
  • I didn’t cramp up!

Cons

  • I got a headache almost immediately. At first I attributed it to my headband, but I later realized it was probably because I wasn’t hydrated enough. This is kind of embarrassing, because my mom is always reminding me to drink a lot of water. Whoops. Duly noted.
  • While I was able to run longer than the plan said for Day 1, I also walked longer than I probably should have.
  • I got a cramp in my side/stomach after I came back that really hurt. At least it was in the comfort of my own home?

All in all, it was an alright experience. I have to admit I’m a little intimidated to do it again on Thursday because running is still a very scary concept to me, but I figure it can only get better from here.

After I came back, I rehydrated, took a much-needed shower, and fixed myself some breakfast. I was planning on having some oats ‘n’ stuff but at the last minute I decided a bagel sounded better.

wheat bagel - one half topped with almond butter and banana, other half with strawberry jam

Eeek. I need to surrrriously work on my food photography skills this summer. Maybe Vic can help me – she has the photo genes. Any tips, however, are more than welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

And then I took a nap. I know a lot of people are anti-nap, but I figure if I’m tired and don’t need to do anything else, I can sleep. And sleep I did.

For three hours, but that is neither her nor there.

A tofurkey sandwich with spicy mustard sounded good, so that happened. No picture, but with my lack of skills would you really want to see it anyway? Like I said, that’s a work in progress.

Then I went out on the porch to read some more in this book.

Not the best book I’ve ever read, but it’s keeping me entertained and that’s all I ask of summer reading. More apologies for the blurry/subpar photo.

The rest of the day was spent doing a little of this and a little of that. Tomorrow morning I’m going to the gym with my dad to do some weights, and then MGM is coming in the afternoon because we have tickets to see Ingrid Michaelson! This will be the second time I’ve seen her live, and I can’t wait because she is super talented and hilarious. I kind of want to be her.

That’s all for now!

One Response to “The Run Report…”

  1. Lisa 06/16/2010 at 10:09 am #

    I find it so difficult to stay hydrated enough before and while I’m running. I rarely run with water, but almost always I get incredibly thirsty during a run, and sometimes get little cramps that would probably go away with a sip or two of water. Let me know if you find a solution.

Leave a Reply

