Foodie Friday

19 Jun

I was going to post last night, but my mom talked me into watching Little Shop of Horrors for the first time. Now I have “Little Shop, Little Shop of Horrors” stuck in my head. Other than that, it was entertaining.

My second attempt at running was much better than the first, even though I was still apprehensive. I changed up the scenery a little bit and drank more water beforehand, so I’m sure that made a difference. I ran in a shaded cemetery next to my neighborhood this time. I know that might sound really creepy, but people walk their dogs there all the time. There are a bunch of little roads all throughout lined with trees, so the shade was really nice.

After returning and showering, I decided a yogurt mess sounded good.

Fage 0% Greek yogurt, honey-puffed spelt, 1/2 a banana, honey drizzle

I got the spelt awhile ago at the Athens Farmers Market and I’m still using it because I always forget I have it. It’s really tasty, though, and if you come across some, I encourage you to try it. (PS – I think this is one of my best food pics yet 🙂 )

all mixed up

And then I took another nap for three hours. That is the last time I am letting myself do that. I know I said that it wasn’t a big deal but three hours is a long time during which I could be doing other things. As much as I love to sleep, it also makes it impossible to get to sleep at night before 2. Not ideal.

I woke up hungry for a late lunch, and it was a sort of “snack plate”, as made famous by this fabulous blogger.

strawberry Chobani, pineapple, almonds, Mary's black pepper crackers, Sabra spicy hummus

The crackers have been a favorite of my mom’s for awhile, so I decided to try some. I know they’re packed with all sorts of “good for you” stuff, but honestly this tasted like birdseed to me. I probably won’t be eating them again. I believe in eating well, but not if it tastes like animal food.

After that, I finished Commencement and lounged around. Eventually my mom came home from work, so I spent some time out on the porch with her and my dad munching on nuts and drinking pina coladas. Well, they drank them. I’m pretty sure I’m allergic to rum so I just had a Coke instead. After watering the plants, we picked up Chipotle for dinner.

rice, black beans, fajita veggies, tomato salsa, cheese, guacamole, lettuce

…and that was my really super exciting day.

I wanted to go to the farmers market today but I woke up too late because of that silly nap I took yesterday. Boo. But a smoothie is calling my name…

Leave a Reply

