Health and horcruxes

28 Jun

I am eating normally again!

My appetite has been back for a little over 48 hours and I am so happy. As a lover of food, you can imagine how frustrating it was to just not feel hungry for almost a week. Today was also the first day in awhile that I’ve had enough energy to work out. I did 50 minutes of pilates, which really helped stretch out my muscles after being relatively inactive for so long. Tomorrow I’m going to run again…doing week one of the plan over again, obviously.

It is such a relief to be able to eat again. As a result, I also have more energy and have been sleeping better and not as much. It was pretty hellish, to be honest, and I know I have to take some of the blame for how I felt. I’m a vegetarian but not always a very good vegetarian. I’ve never really consciously monitored my protein intake because honestly I didn’t think it was as important as it was hyped up to be. How wrong I was. It is more difficult to get protein without eating meat, and I was just lazy about it. Incorporating more protein into my diet and taking a multivitamin every day are two things I’m going to start doing to make sure I don’t feel like poop on a stick for an entire week ever again.

Anyway, onto horcruxes.

If you haven’t read the last two Harry Potter books, you’re not going to understand this part. But I’m going to assume that the majority of my readers have and go on. One of the people I subscribe to on YouTube made a vlog about what her horcruxes would be, and J blogged about hers, and I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon and share mine. *Pauses to watch new trailer for the movie ohhhhwowDanielRadcliffelooksquitegoodIcan’twaitforNovember*

Oh, before I start. My grandma gave me Harry Potter and the Sorceror’s Stone before it was even a big deal when I was about eight years old. I was too wrapped up in my Babysitter’s Club books to want to read it, but I did about a year or two later. Today is her birthday, and she would have been 91, but she sadly passed away in 2004. If it weren’t for her, I’m sure I still would have gotten and read the book at some point, but I just thought I’d mention that sine it’s coincidentally her birthday. Miss you, Grandma!

And now I present my horcruxes.

This is Pooh Bear and my elephant (still yet to be named). I sleep with both of these every night, and there’s a story behind each of them. I was given Pooh when I was six years old. I had pneumonia and was hospitalized and had to get fluid drained from my lungs. It was a simple and quick procedure, but I was scared nonetheless. Pooh was waiting for me when I woke up from surgery and has slept tucked under my arm pretty much every night since.

The elephant (I have got to think of a name…suggestions?) was given to me very recently, but means just as much because of the circumstances under which he/she was given to me. You can read the story here.

My MacBook. I know some people might roll their eyes at this, but if you know me this makes sense. This is actually my second MacBook and only a few months old, but this thing and I are seriously attached at the hip. It has all my music and pictures, it enables me to stay in touch with people, and report on my life’s happenings via this blog and other mediums. If this were taken away, I would legitimately feel like a part of my soul was gone. Silly? Maybe. But very true.

My favorite books. If you asked me to pick a favorite book, I absolutely couldn’t, but I can narrow it down to five. I would talk about all of them but that could get lengthy so I’ll just list them:

  1. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  2. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling (I will say this: this is the book when I think I realized that HP wasn’t just any old series)
  3. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  4. Looking for Alaska by John Green
  5. The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion (and it’s autographed :D)

I’ve said before how much I love to read, so it’s only fair that books would be one of my horcruxes. Also, I know I’m kind of cheating here by listing multiple things for each one but I’m indecisive and…yeah.

This bracelet. It was a high school graduation gift from my parents and on the inside my initials and graduation date are engraved on one side and on the other side  “Alis volat propriis”  which is Latin and means “she flies with her own wings”. Fun fact: it’s also the motto of the state of Oregon. I don’t wear this as much as I would like because it actually comes unclasped kind of easily, plus I don’t wear much jewelry during the summer. It means a lot to me, though, and I love it all the same.

My journal. I’ve always kept a tangible journal/diary of some sort off and on since I was about six, and over the past several years it’s been the most consistent. Last summer when I was going through an incredibly rough patch, I filled almost 40 pages in a week. I enjoy it because my handwriting doesn’t really have to be neat (something I stress about more than is probably normal) and I can get out whatever I’m thinking. It doesn’t have to make sense and it’s not judged by anyone. Now you all know what my journal looks like, but good luck finding it.

My sorority paddle. Okay, this one is going to take a bit of explaining. During my last few months at OU, I was honestly getting a little tired of being in a sorority for various reasons but at the same time nothing I experienced during my three years at OU shaped me more into the person I am today. I am more confident and I have met some absolutely wonderful people through AOPi, including Little who made this paddle for me. Although I’m not going to see these friends nearly as much as I’d like next year, let it be known now that they have brought so much joy to my life and I miss them so much. </corny spiel>

And then there’s me. But you know what I look like.

Until next time!

3 Responses to “Health and horcruxes”

  1. JH 06/28/2010 at 11:12 pm #

    I didn’t name the elephant when I had him either. I just called him Babo since she gave him to me but I think it would do her injustice to name an elephant after her since she is you know, gorgeous and not elephant like at all. We should think of name dealing with strength as that is what he represents, especially in times of need. xo

  2. Nancy 06/29/2010 at 10:46 am #

    What about Call Me Ishmael?

    I would consult your sister for an elephant name, since she is planning on having a multitude of children for the sole purpose of coming up with interesting names, i.e., Drake––short for Dracob. Remember, this is the child who has even named all of her electronic devices and her musical instruments.

  3. lisasfoods 06/29/2010 at 10:50 am #

    Glad you’re feeling better, and feeling up to eating and exercising again. When you do Pilates, do you take a class or use a DVD? Just took my first class yesterday (I had tried it before using a DVD), and it was great – my core is feeling sore today though.

Leave a Reply

