A quiche for people who don’t like quiche

27 Jul

I never thought I liked quiche. It always seemed too eggy to me and usually I wasn’t a fan of the other vegetables you often find in the filling. But when I came across this recipe, something told me I should try it.

And I’m glad I did, because…I’m just going to go ahead and say it:

tonight’s dinner was damn good.

I can’t credit myself for it, though. Yes, I used the correct ingredients and again managed not to burn down the house. However, it was Julie who inspired me to try this because she made it herself just last week. And she modified it from when Tina made it, and she was inspired by Rachel Ray’s recipe.

I am personally not a fan of Rachel Ray, but the original version looks baller as well.

Anyway, my dad helped again with this since I’m not exactly a culinary pro just yet. My spinach-chopping skills have been honed, though, and my fingertips are stained green to prove it.

I’ve been babbling too much. I know you just want the pictures already.

Here it is: broccoli and spinach egg white quiche!

"hot and fresh out the kitchen"

Julie’s recipe called for shredded cheese of your choice, and I used lite Jarlsberg, which I think went very well.

up close and personal

and another one for good measure

I am absolutely going to make this again, ASAP. It was fantastic and my dad had two servings. I had to wrap up the last piece for my lunch tomorrow to keep him from eating more. Thank you to Julie, Tina, and (sigh) I guess Rachel Ray for this recipe 🙂

Tomorrow’s dinner is going to be very simple because I have my first test for my summer class on Thursday and I’m trying to start out on a high note when it comes to grades. Regardless, I’ll still write about it. A day in the life of my eats might be in order, too, because I got some new (to me) things at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods that I am dying to try.

3 Responses to “A quiche for people who don’t like quiche”

  1. peanutbutterfingers 07/27/2010 at 9:06 pm #

    looks great!!! i need to try it again w/ that cheese!

  2. Laura Contrucci 07/27/2010 at 9:06 pm #

    I’ve been really into quiche recently! (cooking in general really)

    this is the recipe I’ve been using
    http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/food/recipes/quiche-539721/

    the tortilla part sounds especially interesting!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Impatient & hungry - 08/10/2010

    […] believe me, it was probably in my top 3 of things I’ve made so far, the other two being the quiche and the pasta […]

Leave a Reply

