100

3 Aug

It’s my 100th post!

I contemplated waiting until my one-year blogiversary next week to do this so it would be even more special, but going that long without posting is definitely a thing of the past. Next week I’ll probably be more mushy about the past year of my life and whatnot, but all I’d like to say right now is a big THANK YOU to everyone who has read and left comments on Impatient & Hungry. I’ve never stuck with a blog or online journal for 100 posts, and I might not have this time if it weren’t for my readers. So, again, thanks 🙂

For my 100th post, I’ve decided to do a ‘day in the life’ sort of thing since I’ve seen it done on other blogs (well, Kailey‘s)  before and thought it might be fun to do. I know you all are just dying to know my every move today ( :p ), so keep reading!

10-ish a.m. – Vic comes into my room and says, “Don’t you have class?” Class was miraculously canceled today, so I respond “Nrrmph.” She then asks for money. I don’t give her any and fall back asleep.

Noon – Finally wake up, slightly disoriented as it’s been awhile since I’ve slept this late. Happy to have gotten so much sleep but a little grumpy because I know my appetite will be strange as a result, and we all know that’s no fun.

12:05 p.m. – Stumble downstairs to make the ol’ standby breakfast: banana oats with almond butter and honey. Realize the almond butter supply is getting low and become excited about the possibility of oats in a jar in my near future.

12:20 p.m. – Head back to my room, open my laptop and check the vitals: Gmail, Facebook, Twitter, Google Reader. Briefly FB chat Turk and make plans to meet at Starbucks later.

1:30 p.m. – Decide it’s time to get dressed and do something about the knot on the top of my head that is my hair. Somehow manage to (mostly) straighten it. Discover an incredibly painful zit by my right eyebrow about to surface and let out a string of expletives.  Go back to Facebook creeping and Google Reader-ing.

2:30 p.m. – Hop in my car and drive downtown to Starbucks. Order my usual (grande iced caramel soy latte) and sit down at a small table with Turk. Discuss the pros and cons of The Office and 30 Rock. I admit that I’m more like Liz Lemon than is probably healthy and/or normal. Turk tells me about some traveling adventures, some of which I’m sure will be great for him to exaggerate and tell his grandkids someday.

3:45 p.m. – Drive back home and head straight for – where else? – the fridge. Assemble a snack of vanilla Greek yogurt and TJ’s mango granola. Inhale.

3:55 p.m. – Skype with Little. She tells me her new goal in life (I’d tell you but really it’s only funny if you know her) and I show her my dress and shoes I’ll be wearing next week for my 21st birthday.

4:30 p.m. – Drive to Borders to look for Caitlin’s book. Find it on a high shelf in the self-help section. Wonder why they hid it from me. Contemplate moving the others down to eye-level. Wander over to the cookbooks and find a vegetarian cookbook for $5.99.

ugh, apologies for the mysterious blur

5:15 p.m. – Return home and start on an easy recipe I snagged from the Food Network website courtesy of my homegirl Giada:

Fusilli with Spinach and Asiago Cheese

  • 1 pound fusilli pasta
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 (9-ounce) bag fresh spinach, roughly chopped
  • 8 ounces (1/2 pint) cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 cup (about 3 1/2-ounces) grated Asiago
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the pasta and cook until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 8 to 10 minutes. Drain pasta reserving 1/2 cup of the cooking liquid.

Meanwhile, warm olive oil in a large, heavy skillet over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Add the spinach and tomatoes and cook until the spinach wilts, about 2 more minutes. Add the cooked pasta and toss. Add the cheeses, salt, pepper, and the pasta cooking liquid and stir to combine.

Transfer the pasta to a serving plate and serve.

6:00 p.m. – take pasta out to the screened-in porch to dine semi-al fresco.

7:00 p.m. – Come back inside after eating and watching Dad help himself to multiple servings. Somehow there’s still more than half the entire bowl left. Decide this will make a good lunch tomorrow.

7:30 p.m. – Contemplate starting on reading for class but then remember I need more of my favorite pens. Drive to Office Max and sing (more like wail) along with NSYNC when “This I Promise You” comes on my shuffle in the car. Reminisce about 5th grade sleepovers and pretending to like NSYNC like my friends at the time did but secretly preferring Backstreet Boys. Seeing as I have both bands’ greatest hits on my iTunes, though, you wouldn’t be able to tell.

8:00 p.m. – Come back home and begrudgingly start on my reading. Try not to fall asleep.

9:00 p.m. – Work out with/drool over Gunnar Peterson. Wonder why I was so scared of cardio before.

9:30 p.m. – Check the vitals again. Bother my dog and Mom for a little bit.

10:00 p.m. – Make the executive decision to finally shower.

10:15 p.m. – Dry off and realize I’m starving. Snarf down some millet bread and Crofter’s.

10:30 p.m. – Sit down to load my pictures and BLOG.

So, there you have it. A super duper exciting day in the life of yours truly. Ha.

There’s one thing I have to ask, though: Backstreet Boys or NSYNC?

4 Responses to “100”

  1. Alycia @ Fit n Fresh 08/04/2010 at 3:16 pm #

    That’s a stacked day! I definitely need to go hit up a Borders now – nice score on the veggie cookbook!!

  2. Alycia @ Fit n Fresh 08/04/2010 at 3:16 pm #

    Oh and duh! Happy 100th post!!! 🙂

  3. lisasfoods 08/05/2010 at 9:54 am #

    Is that what your days are typically like? It’s so interesting to see how different people spend their days, and have different habits. (Like how I exercise in the morning, and get up around 7:30am each day.)

    Congrats on your 100th post!

    • Liz 08/05/2010 at 5:28 pm #

      during the summer, I’d say that’s about right. Usually I try to get up a few hours earlier than that, but I have my days. During the school year most of my days are filled up with more related to academics.

Leave a Reply

