Subpar supper

6 Aug

First of all, thank you for the congrats on my 100th post 🙂 Here’s to many more!

Even though it’s Friday, this post is going to be about Thursday. I was going to write it last night, but then the power went out for a whole 10 minutes and that just killed my spirit. I totally couldn’t survive the days before electricity. How sad is that?

Moving on…

Yesterday I set my alarm for 8:20 (early for me) because something pretty sweet was on my calendar for 8:30

In case you’ve been hiding under a rock, Caitlin was on The Today Show yesterday morning to talk about her newly released Operation Beautiful book. It was a relatively short segment but I thought it was fabulous. I sat down to read the book when I got it a few days ago, and I loved it. I absolutely recommend it to every girl/woman.

After her segment was over I contemplated just staying up but before I could finish that thought I fell asleep. Woke up about an hour and a half later for class, blergh.

I decided I was going to make dinner again last night, so I pulled out a recipe I had been wanting to try for awhile: Quinoa with mushrooms, kale, and sweet potatoes. It was from the September 2009 issue of Real Simple, and to be honest, I think what really sold me was the colorful picture. It turned out just as colorful when I made it, thankfully.

once again, I apologize for the slight blur!

I really want to be enthusiastic about this dish, but honestly it wasn’t my favorite. I found it lacked flavor and we all know that’s no fun. I never put salt on my dishes, but I put it on last night to try to make it taste like something. It would definitely be good if you’re feeling kind of off and want something a little bland, especially the kale. Although I didn’t particularly like it, maybe someone else will, so here’s the recipe:

Quinoa with mushrooms, kale, and sweet potatoes

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 small sweet potatoes (about 1 pound), peeled and cut into 3/4 inch pieces
  • 10 ounces button mushrooms, quartered
  • 2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1 bunch kale, stems discarded and leaves torn into 2-inch pieces
  • 3/4 cup dry white wine
  • Kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan
  1. Place the quinoa and 2 cups water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, until all the water is absorbed, 12 to 15 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the sweet potatoes and mushrooms and cook, tossing occasionally, until golden and beginning to soften, 5 to 6 minutes.
  3. Stir in the garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add the kale, wine, 3/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Cook, tossing often, until the vegetables are tender, 10 to 12 minutes. Serve over the quinoa and sprinkle with the Parmesan.

On a brighter note, this weekend I am finally able to hang things on the walls in my room, so pictures of the finished product will be coming soon!

3 Responses to “Subpar supper”

  1. Nancy 08/07/2010 at 11:14 am #

    I did like the quinoa, though. It has an unusual texture, like it starts out thinking it’s couscous, and then decides to become puffed rice at the last second. Nice little, tiny crunch. Ok, I’m weird.

  2. lisasfoods 08/09/2010 at 1:31 pm #

    I would probably try to add a different kind of cheese on top, like melted cheddar or Swiss. And I’d take out the white wine, which I don’t usually care to add to dishes.

    Though I didn’t get to watch live, I watched a recording of Caitlin and was so impressed by her calmness. It must be an incredible feeling to be a published author.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Impatient & hungry - 08/10/2010

    […] dinner was a huge success compared to my last dinner, and it didn’t even take as long, either. I grabbed it from that $5.99 vegetarian […]

Leave a Reply

