21

14 Aug

Hello!

Thank you for the blogiversary/birthday wishes!

Something kinda cool happened since my last post – I turned 21 on Thursday.

My birthday has always felt sort of “different” because it’s in the summer and, I’ve always been considered “young” for my class. Most of my friends have been 21 for awhile. Plus, I never really feel my age until about a month or two after my birthday, but I’ve heard other people say the same thing.

This year was no different – except I had to go to class. Since school always started a few weeks after my birthday, I’ve never actually been in an academic setting on my birthday. I contemplated skipping since we’re allowed two unexcused absences, but I would have felt pretty guilty – plus we went over something that I found a bit confusing and would have been even more so if I hadn’t shown up.

I woke up around 10:30 on my birthday, and when I walked out of my room I found a gift “from” my dogs waiting outside the door. My dogs have pretty good taste. One year they got me a camera. They really outdid themselves this year, though.

Along with a tomato-print apron and oven mitt, they gave me

a vegan dessert cookbook full of super tasty looking treats

a recipe book to write down all of my recipes

Then I had to get ready and go to class. We got out early, though, and I came back hungry (of course). I decided upon a simple frozen vegetable pizza with half of a Samuel Adams Cherry Wheat.

I don’t really remember what I did the rest of the afternoon (no, not because I was drunk…I may be a lightweight but half a beer doesn’t do anything). I probably watched some 30 Rock (I’m almost caught up!) and read blogs.

A little before 7, we left for dinner at The Vegiterranean. I’d eaten here once before and immediately declared it my “birthday” restaurant. This visit did not disappoint, either.

We started out with some bread.

Followed by Frito Misto: “Cauliflower Tempura battered served with lemon aioli and a sweet chili basil sauce”

and “asparagus fries with a local horseradish basil sauce”

Both were fantastic.

It took me awhile to decide what to order for my drink. I finally decided upon a Sauvignon Blanc – I forget the brand.

first legal drink in public!

I also had trouble deciding what I wanted for my entrée, but ended up choosing “heirloom tomato and cashew cheese caprese with red onion brulee, wild greens, balsamic gastrique, sea salt and fresh black pepper”. I also had a side of grilled tofu.

This was wonderful! This was my first time trying cashew cheese, and I really liked it. The addition of the grilled tofu was great as well.

With stuffed bellies, we headed home for cake.

CUPcakes, that is. Carrot cupcakes!

One of the presents my parents got me was “Bitch” wine. I thought this was hilarious, so I had to take a picture of me doing my best “bitch” impression.

Yeah, I don’t really practice that look very often. As you can see, it’s a red wine. I’m still more of a fan of white wines, but this was pretty good! I had some more with my dinner tonight.

I think I’m going to end there. I’ll post again tomorrow with the Friday festivities with my friends and the dinner I made tonight.

Leave a Reply

