It’s time…

15 Aug

for another recipe! But first a recap of the rest of my birthday festivities 🙂

Friday morning I was supposed to go to the gym with my dad but our stomachs both felt a little off from the rich cupcakes and wine the night before, so we decided to forego that. I ended up doing some stuff with our weight machine in the basement after my stomach settled. Later in the afternoon I went to get a pedicure because I don’t think I’ve ever been in more desperate need of one, to be completely honest. I decided upon OPI “Overexposed in South Beach” . I don’t have a picture of it on my toes, but I really liked the way it turned out.

After I took a shower and got dressed (obnoxious 21st birthday accessories and all), Big picked me up and we drove to Stir Crazy to meet up with some of our friends for dinner. I didn’t take any pictures of my food, but I ordered Buddha’s Teriyaki Bowl, which was edamame, carrots, yellow squash, zucchini, broccoli and red peppers tossed in teriyaki sauce. It was delicious, but unfortunately I think the teriyaki sauce had corn syrup in it because towards the end of the meal my stomach started acting up :/

Our waitress kindly took a picture of the group with Big’s camera, though, and I think it turned out really well!

After dinner, we headed to Bar Louie. Another one of my friends whom I hadn’t seen in about a year showed up, so it was great to see her. My stomach still wasn’t feeling right, but I wanted the experience of ordering a drink in a real bar (I’m weird, I know), so I decided on a Blue Moon.

(My pins say “21 & Terrific” -it lights up- and “Card me, I’m 21″…I told you the accessories were obnoxious – it’s totally not my style but I figured that was as good of a time as any to step out of my comfort zone :p )

Luckily one of my friends had Tums, so I took advantage of those and waited for my stomach to settle a little bit before diving into my monstrous beer. The Tums helped, but my stomach wasn’t really feeling the alcohol and I knew it would only get worse if I kept drinking, so I only had about 1/4 of that huge glass. We called it a night around 11, and Big drove me back home.

Even though the supposed corn syrup in the teriyaki didn’t make me feel well, I still had a fantastic time. I can’t wait to do something like that again – hopefully I’ll feel better, though!

Saturday was pretty low key. I slept in and spent the day relaxing for a bit and then starting on my 3-5 page psych paper that’s due Wednesday. Around 5:30, I headed to the kitchen to fix a dinner from my cheapie veg cookbook I’d been thinking about all week. It’s so eloquently called “Tofu & Vegetables”. Don’t let the name fool you, though – this packed some serious flavor.

That picture doesn’t really show a lot of the vegetables, but they’re in there, I promise.

Tofu & Vegetables

  • 4 oz rice noodles
  • 3/4 cup oil
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon sherry
  • 1 tablespoon oyster sauce (optional – we went without!)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable stock
  • 2 teaspoons cornflour (I used all-purpose flour)
  • 2 teaspoons water
  • 1 tablespoon oil, extra
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
  • 12 oz firm tofu, cut into small cubes
  • 2 medium carrots, cut into matchsticks
  • 8 oz snow peas, trimmed
  • 4 green onions, finely sliced
  • 13 1/2 oz canned straw mushrooms, drained (we just cut up 2 portabella mushrooms)
  1. Break the rice noodles into short lengths. Heat half the oil in a wok. Cook the noodles in batches in the wok over medium heat until crisp, adding more oil when necessary. Drain on paper towels. (We actually got the rice noodles that are already cooked, so if you do that you’ll save some time!)
  2. Combine the soy sauce, sherry, oyster sauce and stock in a small bowl. Blend the flour with the water in a small bowl.
  3. Heat the wok; add the extra oil and the garlic and ginger and cook over high heat for 1 minute. Add the tofu and stir-fry for 3 minutes. Remove the tofu from the wok. Add the carrots and snow peas to the wok and stir-fry for 1 minute. Add the combined sauces and vegetable stock; cover and cook for another 3 minutes, or until the vegetables are just cooked.
  4. Return the tofu to the wok. Add the onions, mushrooms and blended flour. Stir until the sauce has thickened, then remove from the heat. Serve with the crisp rice noodles.

As I said, this was a really simple and tasty dish, so I’d definitely recommend it. I enjoyed it with a glass of my “Bitch” wine 😉

That’s all for now. Tomorrow I start my last week of my summer class, and then I have a week off before fall semester starts!

3 Responses to “It’s time…”

  1. Nancy 08/16/2010 at 9:37 am #

    Tofu and veggies was quite a delicious dish indeed. Grasshoppa is coming along very nicely in her culinary training.
    Cute photos!!

  2. Alycia [Fit n Fresh] 08/17/2010 at 10:42 am #

    HAPPY 21ST BIRTHDAY! Belated I know, but I’ve been away. It looks like you had an awesome night out!! Love it 🙂

    Oh and that recipe? Freakin delicious. If only I didn’t totally suck when it comes to cooking tofu!

  3. lisasfoods 08/19/2010 at 9:38 am #

    I just hate feeling unwell from food. That happens to me every once in a while, and it can really throw you off.

    Blue Moon is always a good choice!

Leave a Reply

