Whoopie!

24 Aug

Today my friend Melanie came over and we headed straight to My Sweet Vegan to pick out a recipe to try. We finally decided upon Whoopie Pies, and ventured out to the nearest health food store to pick up some of the ingredients we didn’t have on hand.

I’m just going to go ahead and confess that the version we made was not entirely vegan. We couldn’t find vegan sour cream, and I tend to stray away from margarine because butter is healthier. However, other than that it was entirely vegan 😉 I am really intrigued by veganism, but I don’t see myself becoming a vegan anytime soon for a variety of reasons.

Anyway, while we were at the store I found chia seeds! I have been dying to try these out and they will probably be making a debut in my oats in a jar tomorrow morning. I was also thrilled to see this store carried Alternative Baking Company cookies. My favorite coffee shop in Athens had them, but only two or three flavors at a time. I’m pretty sure this store had every flavor, including my favorite, “Phenomenal Pumpkin Spice”. Melanie and I each got one, and mine is tucked away in a special place for a later time because I had my heart set on these whoopie pies.

You want pictures now, right?

It was so incredibly difficult to wait for these to cool off before applying the creme filling. Needless to say, they were delicious and I totally recommend making these even if you’re like me and not a fan of the processed whoopie pies. I’m serious, these are how they should taste. I’d love to make these totally vegan sometime, I just have to make the 35 minute trek to either a Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s to get some vegan sour cream.

Here’s the recipe in case you’re interested!

Chocolate Cookies

  • 1 cup plain soymilk
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup Dutch Process cocoa powder (we just used regular cocoa powder)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons vegan “sour cream”
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 350* F and line two baking sheets with silpats or parchment paper.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together the soymilk and vinegar and set aside, allowing the mixture time to curdle. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flours, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  3. Over in your stand mixer (ha- I wish… HAND mixer for me), cream together the margarine and both sugars, beating to ensure that the contents of the bowl are creamy and fully combined. Add the sour cream and mix again until smooth.
  4. Returning to the now curdled soymilk, whisk in the vanilla. Beginning with these wet ingredients, alternately add them with the dry ingredients into your mixer. Scrape down the sides as necessary, and beat the mixture just enough to fully combine.
  5. Use an ice cream scoop or measuring cup to drop 3 to 4 tablespoons of dough at a time onto your prepared baking sheets. Leave a good amount of space between each cookie, about 2 inches, allowing them room to spread a bit. Bake for 10 to 14 minutes, until they crackle slightly on top. Remove the cookies from the oven and let them cool completely on the baking sheets where they should firm up a bit more.

Filling

  • 2 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/3 cup vegetable shortening
  • 3 tablespoons plain soymilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. Begin with the mixer on low and beat together the confectioner’s sugar and shortening. Add the soymilk, and finally the vanilla. Once the sugar has become incorporated, turn the mixer up to high and whip for a good 2 or 3 minutes; this will incorporate more air, making for a lighter, fluffier filling.
  2. Drop a healthy dollop of the creme mixture onto the flat side of one cooled cookie, and place a second cookie on top. Press down gently to bring the filling right out to the edge. Repeat this process with your remaining cookies and creme filling.

Makes 8 to 10 sandwich cookies

I just had another one (I split one with Melanie earlier) as a little reward for my inflexible body doing a backbend in yoga. Still just as tasty 🙂

Five days until school starts. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous…

3 Responses to “Whoopie!”

  1. Nancy 08/25/2010 at 9:00 am #

    These were indeed quite tasty. I think you and Mel should open a bakery. Everything you two have baked has been delish!!!

  2. Alycia [Fit n Fresh] 08/26/2010 at 7:42 pm #

    Those look so good! Whoopie pies were always my favorite thing to make with my mom as a kid. I still love them to this day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lucky stars, tasty food and a fresh start « Impatient & hungry - 08/28/2010

    […] guess we’ll start with the chia seeds I bought earlier this week . I debuted them in my breakfast of oats in a Peanut Butter & Co “The Bee’s […]

Leave a Reply

